Understanding Gita – 73

Chapter 4 – JnanaYoga

Shloka 13


cātur-varya mayā sṛṣṭa
tasya kartāram api mā
viddhy akartāram avyayam

Text Source – “http://prabhupadabooks.com/bg

The four varnas(divisions of the human society) are created by Me, divided by the quality of work. Although I created that, know that I am the non-doer and unchanging.

In the previous verses, God tells that however people approach Him, he will accept them and grant their wishes. People pray to demi gods(who are again parts of the Supreme) for quick results. But why is everyone not asking for the highest, which is Him?

Lord has created 4 divisions according to the quality of karma –

  1. Brahmana – more of Satvik qualities
  2. Kshatriya – Satvik and Rajasic
  3. Vaishya – Rajasic and Tamasic
  4. Shudra – Tamasic

Same work, four types of people do in different way. Take for instance, the act of praying to Lord. A Brahmana might pray for higher knowledge, while a Vaishya may pray for material wealth. God grants them both what they want, but it is upto people what they ask.

Things to be noted here –

  • The four divisions of our society(caste system) is not based on birth, but indeed based on the quality of work(or more like intention behind the work).
  • People think and act according to their own nature. God doesn’t try to change their thinking.

Divya: God doesn’t interfere in what people are doing. It is upto us to increase our satwa, or fall back to tamas. And God is not bound by all these things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s