Understanding Gita – 34

Second episode/adhyaya – Sankhya yoga

TEXT 48

yoga-stha kuru karmāi
saga tyaktvā dhanañjaya
siddhy-asiddhyo samo bhūtvā
samatva yoga ucyate

SYNONYMS

yogasthasteadfast in yoga; kuruperform; karmāiyour duty; sagamattachment; tyaktvāhaving abandoned; dhanañjayaO Dhanañjaya; siddhiasiddhyoin success and failure; samathe same; bhūtvāhaving become; samatvamevenness of mind; yogayoga; ucyateis called.

Text Source – “http://prabhupadabooks.com/bg

Perform your duties in yoga(mental state of renouncing everything), abandoning attachment, O Dhananjaya! Becoming even in mind for siddhi-asiddhi(success and failure) is called Yoga.

Have you noticed that when you cook during festivals, the food somehow turns good. I’ve also noticed that if I am cooking for somebody who is very nitpicky, the food somehow gets messed up. So clearly the quality of food is depending upon my state of mind. For God, I am not expecting him to come and appreciate or depreciate my cooking. I do it for the sake of doing, and I put my best. For a nit-picky person on the other hand, I am kinda tensed and expecting him to be okay with my cooking. That is exactly what one shouldn’t be doing.

Fix your mind on God and do your chores. And don’t care about gaining anything or losing anything. Then you are doing your duties in yoga.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

