Understanding Gita – 1

I used to come across statements like “Bhagavad Gita tells everything that one needs to know”, “Gita has answers to all your problems”.

Thanks to the mega serial Mahabharath which used to come on DD1, I knew the context leading to Bhagavad Gita, and I knew the outcome after Gita. And thanks to the title track of the serial, sung by Mahendra Kapoor(whose voice I love!), I knew few verses of Gita. And that was that. 

In a nutshell, Arjuna didn’t want to fight his own kith and kin and Krishna convinced him to fight, by preaching him Gita. SriKrishna did this to uphold Dharma. How could something said in this context give an universal solution to “all” your problems, I could never connect, I never bothered to connect.

As I began wanting answers for my own turmoil, as I was unable to resolve my own inner dilemma, as my utter state of confusion only grew as years went by, I fell on Bhagavad Gita looking for answers.

At first I was very excited to read the book. After all, these were the words claimed to have come from Lord Sri Krishna’s mouth. I was hoping that this would change me, transform me, I would walk and talk like a person with “ultimate wisdom”, but frankly nothing much happened. The kind of transformation I expected to happen within me, didn’t even start, let alone transform me inside out! And also I started getting confused.. like sometimes I used to wonder ‘what is God even talking about?’. But thankfully, that desire to get the answer through Bhagavad Gita didn’t diminish. I kept on reading it everyday, whether or not I understood. I still do.

Now Divya(who offers Bhagavad Gita courses), has started teaching me Bhagavad Gita. And she suggested that I open up a blog and start documenting whatever I learn, as I learn. I loved that idea!

So here I am, attempting to learn and understand Bhagavad Gita. I pray to God as I start this journey, for success, and to provide me with wisdom and the strength to lead my life in that wisdom!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

